TL;DR
Get furniture and decor delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Amazon announced the Ring Smart Lock, which has a thumb-turn dial that can generate emergency power if its rechargeable battery runs out. The $249 lock is expected in the U.S. in early 2027, pending FCC approval; Amazon has not said exactly how many turns are needed.
Amazon has announced the Ring Smart Lock, a $249 smart lock with a thumb-turn dial that can generate emergency power if its rechargeable battery dies. The company says turning the dial a few times should provide enough power to unlock the door, offering an alternative to a physical backup key or an external battery connection.
Amazon says the dial’s built-in charging mechanism can supply enough power to operate the lock and let someone into the home, then fully recharge the lock’s battery. The company has not specified how many turns are required, how much power each turn generates, or how the emergency procedure performs in different conditions.
The lock is expected to go on sale in the United States in early 2027, subject to approval by the Federal Communications Commission. It will cost $249 and come in black, silver and brass finishes. Amazon describes it as Ring’s first smart lock.
Access options include a fingerprint reader, a backlit touchscreen keypad, the Ring mobile app and voice commands through compatible Alexa devices. Owners can register multiple users and schedule access, including creating temporary codes that expire after a set period. The lock uses a replaceable Ring Quick Release Ultra Battery Pack and does not require wiring, according to the announcement.
Emergency Access Without a Spare Key
A depleted battery can leave a smart-lock user unable to enter unless there is another way to power the lock or a physical key. Ring’s dial-based approach is designed to let a person at the door generate emergency power using the lock itself, without carrying a separate battery or locating an external charging port. That may make the lock easier to use in a battery failure, though Amazon has not released test results or detailed operating instructions.
The product also makes connectivity and ecosystem choices that may affect buyers. It connects to other devices over Amazon’s Sidewalk network, rather than relying on a home Wi-Fi connection, and can be controlled through the Ring app or Alexa-compatible devices. The lock has no camera, so people who want video at the entrance will need a separate camera or doorbell.
Because the lock is not expected until early 2027 and still needs FCC approval, its announced price and features describe a planned product, not a device consumers can buy now. Buyers will need to weigh the emergency charging feature against the wait, the Sidewalk coverage requirement and the need for separate video equipment if that matters to them.
Ring smart lock emergency power dial
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How Ring Plans to Power and Connect It
Many smart locks provide an emergency power option if their batteries fail. The source report describes other designs that use a hidden USB port or metal contacts for attaching a 9-volt battery. Ring’s announced design instead places a generator in the thumb-turn dial, which is also used to operate the lock manually. Amazon says only a few turns should provide enough power to unlock the door, but it has not published a turn count.
For connectivity, Ring says the lock uses Amazon Sidewalk, a low-power, long-range network, rather than connecting directly through the home’s Wi-Fi. Amazon says this could help maintain remote access and alerts during a Wi-Fi outage where Sidewalk coverage is adequate. The announcement does not establish how well that benefit will apply at every home.
The lock was announced alongside Ring camera products, but those are separate devices. The source report says the Indoor Cam 4K is available for $99.99 and the Pan-Tilt Indoor Cam 2K for $69.99. Neither camera is built into the smart lock; Ring’s lock announcement does not include video monitoring at the door.
Battery Test Details Still Missing
Amazon has not said exactly how many dial turns are needed to generate emergency power, how much effort that takes, or whether the mechanism can unlock the door under all conditions. The company’s description that a few turns should work is a product claim; independent testing and real-world performance details are not included in the source report.
The planned U.S. release remains subject to FCC approval. Amazon has announced an early 2027 availability window but has not provided an exact launch date. The source material also does not specify Sidewalk coverage availability at particular addresses, the lock’s full battery life, or whether additional service requirements will apply to app-based features.
FCC Review and Launch Details
The next stated milestone is FCC approval, which must come before the expected U.S. release in early 2027. Amazon has not announced a more specific sale date. As launch approaches, buyers will need product specifications and testing that clarify the dial’s emergency charging procedure, battery performance and connectivity requirements.
Until then, the Ring Smart Lock remains an announced product rather than an available purchase. The stated price is $249; the announced finishes are black, silver and brass. Any change to its schedule, specifications or availability has not been reported in the source material.
Key Questions
How does the Ring Smart Lock charge if its battery dies?
Amazon says turning the lock’s thumb-turn dial generates enough power to unlock the door. The company says a few turns should be sufficient, but it has not specified an exact number.
When will the Ring Smart Lock be available?
Amazon expects U.S. availability in early 2027, pending FCC approval. No exact release date has been announced.
How much will the lock cost?
The announced price is $249. Amazon says it will be offered in black, silver and brass finishes.
Does the Ring Smart Lock have a camera?
No. The lock does not include a camera. A separate Ring camera or smart doorbell is needed to see video of people at the entrance.
Does it need home Wi-Fi or wiring?
Amazon says installation requires no wiring and the lock connects to other devices using its Sidewalk network rather than relying on the home’s Wi-Fi. Remote access and alerts depend on adequate Sidewalk coverage, according to the announcement.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
